School Background


History of Our School

In 1841 the Revd Thomas Carew, rector of Bickleigh, gave some land near to the church as a site for a school. The original school building still exists and was converted, a few years ago, into a private residence and is now lived in by one of the school staff. In 1960 a new school was constructed on the present site to educate the growing numbers of children in more suitable accommodation. The cedar built one storey block with the later addition of the temporary Devon Lady classroom housed approximately 60 children. In recent years increasing pupil numbers and the re-organisation of the Tiverton schools to a Primary/Secondary system led the authority to remodel the old building, adding a more permanent four classroom block to the rear of the school. The present accommodation provides five classrooms and the facilities to achieve the broad curriculum, that the staff and Governors, feel are important for our pupils.

Beyond the buildings we enjoy picturesque views of the Exe Valley and grounds that include a Community Orchard, copse and pond, adventure play apparatus, ample grassed and hard playing surfaces and an Environmental Area.